Year End Music Chart (2016)

2016 is ending in a few hours and a new year will be upon us soon. It’s been a roller coaster ride of a year. So without further ado, here’s my music chart for this year!

Top Songs: (songs that I thought were the best/listened to the most/made the most impact on me this year)

Top Albums:

Top Artists + Artist’s Top Songs:

Top OST:

Top Remix/Cover:

Top Instrumental:

Top Song Lyrics

Top Music (Top songs based on background, melody, beat, singing style etc.; not considering emotional/lyrical preferences)

Top Music Videos:

  • Russian Roulette – Red Velvet

This is the most entertaining music video I’ve seen this year. They’re all trying to kill each other in a Tom&Jerry-like way while having a poker face the entire time. As usual, Red Velvet’s video has this nonsense feel to it, but at the same time, there is some kind of story line. They’re visuals are kinda weird in a cute way (their hairstyles are so outlandish and so cute at the same time) which still fits in with their “we-make-absolutely-no-sense” image. This is actually the first video of Red Velvet I enjoyed the first time I watched it, and it honestly made my day every time I heard the song or watch the video.

  • Chewing Gum (Hoverboard Performance Version) – NCT Dream

Ah…NCT Dream. the only NCT band I actually like. They’re so cute and so young; I want one of them to be my little brother. I’ve always wanted a brother who can dance with a hoverboard. Or maybe just a brother in general. These kids remind me of TVXQ’s Balloon era.

  • Don’t Speak – Far East Movement ft. Tiffany

*Speechless* ……………………..I slightly get motion sickness from this video though. But them visuals…*speechless*

  • Fly – Jessica Jung

With Jessica’s first ever release as a solo artist out of SM, she definitely did not disappoint me. The song itself was great, catchy, and uplifting; then the music video made it even better. Her outfits were pretty, the choreography was so cute, and the story line about going on a quest to look for her “snow wonderland” in the middle of a desert was so adorable. Way to play the Ice Princess role and make it her very own.

  • I Like That – Sistar

Let’s face it: when it comes to sizzling hot and sexy, it’s definitely Sistar. This video is amazing for many reasons: (1) The choreography is creative, (2) their visuals are on point, (3) it’s a very ASIAN concept. We have Chinese characters, Asian style drapes, Chinese lamps, Asian furniture, etc… It looks very exotic and fitting because, duh, they are Asians.

  • Love Me The Same – Jessica Jung

This music video speaks to my soul. It’s so touching, well, at least for me it is, because a lot of people think this MV makes no sense. Actually, this is the story from my point of view: here’s Jessica in a lonely world all alone with nothing but a cactus plant that she swore to treat well with all the love and care in the world, because it’s all she has. Even though at first it seemed dumb because the cactus plant can’t really do much (what do you expect from a plant?), the next day when she woke up, the plant repaid her kindness (with more plant life?). The hedgehog and cactus scene was my favorite though (reference to Andrei and Anne). Don’t make Cacti lonely!!!

  • Hate – 4Minute

I saw this MV on TV once and I really like it. It’s just so bad-ass and intense. Plus, Gayoon is so pretty! I started getting more into them because of this song and MV and then probably a week later I found out they broke up. ㅠㅜㅠㅠㅜㅜ

  • I Swear – Sistar

This is the ultimate summer jam of all summer jams. Even the music video is the ultimate summer video filled with girls who just wanna have fun. Too bad 2016 summer sucked, but I at least made up for it by enjoying myself some Sistar around August. Watching them have fun made me feel like I was having fun too.

  • Why (Dance Version) – Taeyeon

Here we can see Taeyeon’s dancing skills. With the rest of Girls’ Generation, we never really look at her when it came to the dance catergory; we had Hyoyeon, Yuri, Soo-Young, and Yoona for that. But with this video we can see our little kid leader dancing with her cute little limbs. She’s smaller than all her dancers too. Cutie.

  • Why So Lonely – Wonder Girls

Okay, to be honest, I’m not sure why I like this music video so much. I guess the ridiculousness of the whole thing has something to do with it, because I can’t help but watch it over and over again. The Wonder Girls look like hippie barbies here… hippie Barbies trying to kill that Ken doll. It’s dark, sadistic, and ridiculous in an oddly hilarious way.

  • Shut Up – Unnies

It’s a good thing Min Hyorin Unnie wished for this, because this hilarious video was born into this world afterwards. It’s too bad they’re formed to be nothing but a one-hit wonder. I’d very much like to see Hong JinKyung Unnie dance and sing again. She’s hilarious. And as for Tiffany…*sigh*…

  • Cinderella – CNBLUE

Reason why I like this video: Minhyuk’s biceps. Period. To be honest, I’ve never watched a video just to look at handsome men and muscles UNTIL I saw this video. You can’t deny it; they’re SO good looking.

  • 덕수궁 돌담길의 봄 (Deoksugung Stonewall Walkway) – Yoona &  10cm

Okay, I know it’s a simple, kinda cheap music video and this is no way the best video ever when it came to production and cinematography but still… Yoona is so freaking pretty and watching this video is the closest I’m ever gonna get to going on a date with her hahaha kidding… Actually, I’ve been to Deoksugung Stonewall Walkway back when I first went to Seoul with my family back in 2014 and this song reminds me of that time. We just totally passed through that area, not knowing that it was a famous walkway, but we took pictures and enjoyed the pretty view anyway. We were just kind of walking around and then we went to the art museum at the end of that walkway too. When I go visit Seoul probably on February 2018, I will definitely go back to that walkway and listen to this song…while imagining Yoona was with me hahaha just kidding.

  • 그 여름 (0805) – Girls’ Generation

This video is exactly what it is. A feel ride through the 9 years of Girls’ Generation’s history. Of course, if you aren’t a fan, you won’t get it, but this simple lyric video is definitely the best one out there. The song itself is a big feel ride, even if you don’t like Girls’ Generation. The lyrics relate to me in so many ways and it’s one of those songs that make me feel so nostalgic that I actually feel like tearing up.

Special Mention: (Other songs that didn’t make any of the lists above)


Leave a Reply

