Some Anime List

Here’s just a list of anime that I have enjoyed watching during the past year or so. If you haven’t seen any of these, I SUGGEST YOU DO. I’m really into drama and slice of life, so most of the anime in this list will be in that genre. I won’t spoil too much in my descriptions so don’t worry. (This list is arranged in no particular order.)

Orange (2016)

orange-anime

This is the most recent anime I watched and I really liked it a lot. It’s about trying to change the past and trying to live without regrets. The whole plot revolves around saving a friend from suicide, so there are definitely sad parts throughout, but it ends really well. Also, the characters’ friendship and teamwork is #squadgoals.

 

Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 (2009)

tokyomagnitude8.jpg

The summer before the earthquakes raged around Gyeongju (felt throughout South Korea), I watched this depressing, heart-wrenching anime that really broke my heart. It’s about two kids who survived a strong earthquake in Tokyo, and a woman who decided to help them get back to their parents. This anime is so sad and yet so good. If you love tragic stories, you must definitely watch this.

 

Kokoro Connect (2012)

kokoro-connect

This anime was fun to watch. Five friends are part of this totally useless high school club until strange things start to happen to them that puts their friendship to the test. Because of the strange, supernatural “trials,” they all end up getting so much closer and getting to know each other more. This anime puts #squadgoals and teamwork to a whole new level.

 

Love, Chuunibyou, & Other Delusions (2012)

chuunibyou.jpg

Okay, this anime started off as fun and kinda ridiculous, but as it progressed, it was actually deeper than I expected it to be. It’s about growing up, and discovering who you are. Let’s face it–we’ve all imagined ourselves as some character in some weird delusional fantasy world when we were younger. But in the end we all have to grow up and face the reality that our fantasy worlds weren’t real. (I haven’t seen the 2nd season though.)

 

Hyouka (2012)

hyouka.jpg

I absolutely enjoyed watching this one. I understand that some people might find this anime boring, but this one is definitely one of my favorites. This is actually a mystery anime, but it’s very light and mostly involves a lot of curious mishaps and theoretical thinking. I would watch this series again to understand the deductions more. The more you watch the more interesting it gets.

 

Erased (2016)

erased.jpg

Once I started watching this anime, I really couldn’t stop until I finished it. So many cliff hangers! It’s another anime that involves changing the past and saving someone from dying, but in this anime, mystery, crime, and murder are involved. Though it’s mostly a mystery, thriller anime, lots of the scenes are quite heart-wrenching as well.

 

Clannad (2007) / Clannad After Story (2008)

clannad.jpg

This is probably one of those anime that I won’t ever forget. The first season (Clannad) revolves around high school life and the characters’ own stories and problems, while the second season revolves around changes and hardships after high school. I watched this anime bit by bit while I was living my life in the dorm. Life wasn’t easy at that time and watching this anime got me thinking a lot about life and people in general. There are a lot of really good themes and lessons in this anime, so I highly recommend it you’re into the slice-of-life genre.

 

Your Lie in April (2014)

20184.jpg

This is another anime that ends in a sad note (literally). It’s a story about never giving up on dreams and living life to the fullest, even when the odds are against you. Since it revolves around classical musicians and music, I really enjoyed watching this anime. So much feels for this one, especially the very bittersweet ending. ㅠㅠ

 

Cardcaptor Sakura (1998)

sakura.jpg

It’s an old kids anime from the 90’s but hey, it never gets old to me. The series is cute, fun, and light, although slightly repetitive in most parts–exactly what you’d expect from a kids anime. As much as it is a light kids anime, the character development and slowly evolving plot is what makes this magical anime definitely worth watching. It gets more interesting and you’ll get more attached with the lovable characters the more you watch.

 

Anohana: The Flower We Saw That Day (2011)

ano-hana-1

 

anohana

This is probably my favorite anime of all time. Until now every time I hear the ending song of this anime I feel like crying. Basically, this anime is about childhood friends that have drifted apart after one of them died. Since then, each of them carried around grief and guilt until years later, when they all learn to let go and forgive themselves and each other.

Leave a Reply

