We were so young, We had no idea…

So recently, after a long time of going about our own businesses in our own respective places in this big bad world, the Elite 4 has been reunited…over Facebook. We had more long chats on “the longest chatbox ever” about random things: what we’ve been up to lately, pondering how old we are, Pokemon, our old school, old friends and what not, but most of all, how much we truly missed each other and all the fun and stupid things we used to do as kids back in the day. No matter how long the four of us have been apart, it still felt like we were the closest pals on the planet.

Our history together had been quite long. It dates back to when we were a bunch of naive little grade schoolers; not caring about what the future might bring or what consequences our childish behaviour could cause. We just played, joked, laughed, and enjoyed each other’s company for countless hours. Back then, life was different. There were a lot less worries, and if there was a problem, it could easily be solved by a pat on the back or a joke that had us laughing for weeks. Our time together was fun and memorable. Nevertheless, that time flew past quickly like the speed of a jet plane–probably faster.

We swore to be friends no matter what. We swore to never forget each other. We believed that our friendship would last a lifetime. But have we ever thought that it wasn’t that easy to just “never forget” each other? Sure, we still know that each of us separately exists in a certain part of the world, but after a long time of separation, I find myself forgetting about the group. I start to forget some of our adventures, conversations, and stories. I have plenty of other things to think about now. There’s school, exams, band practice, church participation, projects, new friends, jobs, future plans, and numerous other things that constantly go through my brain. I don’t think of my old friends as much as I used to. They used to be my whole world, but now they’re a tiny fragment of my past; lost in a dusty shelf deep in the library of my memories. The present is nothing like it used to be. It’s tougher, more challenging, and stressful. As a result, the good memories of my laid-back past had been over-crowded by the massive intake of new information necessary for surviving in this big bad world. But in the midst of all this new chaos going on in my life, I know that I would never let go. Elite 4 is still there somewhere, and they always have a special place deep in my heart.

Time had always been a tricky fellow. He makes the world’s rotations and revolutions seem slow at first glance, but when you aren’t looking, he spins the world around faster than how you want it to. What’s worse is, we can never go back. As much as I want to forget about all my new problems and go back to those fun childish days, I can’t. I know that things will never be the way it used to be. 1 Corinthians 13:11 says,
“When I was I child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. But now that I have grown, I put childish ways behind me.”

Leaving things behind is all a part of growing up. Changes happen and times change. You lose people and meet new ones. It’s all a part of life. We can’t stay as crazy little kids forever. But no matter what, our promise to stay friends still stands. We are all called to love each other and all people. The love we share as friends will and should stay. Whenever I remember Elite 4, I pray for each one of them. I don’t always think about them now, but I know that deep down I still love them as one of the best friends I have ever had.

“Now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.” -1 Corinthians 13:13.


Leave a Reply

